Aggressively defending your rights for over 35 years
Providing legal advice to Northern Michigan
Law Offices of Michael D. Nelson PLC
Michigan has some of the strictest DUI laws in America, so you need the experienced attorneys of The Law Offices of Michael D. Nelson, Gaylord, MI to help you through a DUI charge.
Improper roadside testing
Improper chemical testing
No evidence of operation
Challenging police reports
Each defense has the possibility of getting you out of the harsh penalties of DUI law. Our knowledgeable attorneys will discuss your options with you and help you determine what will work best for you. Get a clear understanding of the mutual expectations involved.
Your attorney will work with you to find your best line of defense, and to come up with the most effective way of arguing your case for your benefit.
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS!
Let our years of experience assist
you with any DUI charges and get your life back on track!
If you are charged with a DUI, you likely have many questions about what to do next. Our attorneys can help answer any questions and prepare a defense.
There are many potential offenses related to driving under the influence and each come with their own penalties.
Operating while visibly impaired means that your ability to operate a vehicle safely has been impaired by alcohol.
A first offense can bring a fine of up to $300 as well as another possible penalty, such as community service or points on your driivng record.
A second offense can cause a fine between $200 and $1,000, along with additional penalties, including potential jail time.
A third offense is considered a felony in Michigan and comes with a fine between $500 and $5,000, along with possible severe jail time, revoking your driver's license or extensive community service.
In Michigan, it is illegal for an individual who is 21 years or older to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of more than eight percent. You may be charged with a more serious crime under Michigan’s Super Drunk law if your BAC is 17 percent or higher.
A first offense can lead to a fine between $100 and $500, along with additional penalties such as jail time and suspension of a license.
A second offense can bring with it a fine between $200 and $1,000, along with up to a year in jail, an alcohol treatment program and potential other penalties.
A third offense is a felony and leads to a fine between $500 and $5,000. Potential additional penalties can lead to up to five years imprisonment, points on your driving record or other major penalties.
It is illegal for an individual in Michigan who is under 21 years old to drive with a BAC of two percent or greater. It is also illegal to transport alcohol in a vehicle unless you or a passenger are 21 or older.
A first offense can carry a fine, community service and other penalites. A second offense carries larger fines, potential jail time, license suspension and other possible penalties.